Let's talk about the making of this establishment, originally known as Rest Haven Motel, DBA doing business as The Usonian Inn LLC, we are trying to preserve all its original elements and features. Here is a brief history of facts!
The talk and planning, all that, started in 1948.
Carry Caraway, formerly of Taliesin and living in Clyde at the time was the architect for the building.
Back then, it took longer to have a property design and build then in the 21st century. Kraemer Bros. of Plain was designated to take on the project of building.
Here is a picture of the construction crew
The motel known as "Rest Haven" will be completed in 1952 and in operation by May 15th
The motel was the first highway lodging place between Madison and La Crosse on Highway 14. That is a big stretch of 126 miles.
"Spring Green's Newest business enterprise, a modern, 10-unit motel near the intersection of Highways 14 and 23 a half mile northeast of the village, has been completed and was opened last week by the owners, Mr. and Mrs John Michels"
"A tow-story home for the Michels family forms the center of the structure, and long, low wings on either side house the motel units."
Home News Spring Green WI May 15,1952
Once, an architect told us that the architecture of the structure looks worm and makes it very welcoming, like tow open arms ready to hug you!
"The long, flat roof of the motel can be used by the Michels family as a terrace for outdoor living.
Each spacious room of the motel has its own bathroom, indirect lighting, radiant heating, and furnishing of modern design.
Within a week after it had opened for business, the motel owners had accommodated visitors from six states, and one of their overnight guests was Bob McGrath who plays with the Brooklyn Dodgers."
Home News Spring Green, WI May 15,1952
Home News - Page of the Spring Green newspaper; May 15, 1952
Frank Lloyd Wright - 1952 photographed by Fred Stein
And here is the original street sign with the original name!